Latest Gossip
Yesterday's News
Queen of Chat
Ringy Dingy Me a Little E-Mail
Ringy-Dingy Me a Little Note
dland

Princess in a Golden Canopy Bed
2004-06-07 - 2:05 a.m.

As a little girl, I always begged Mom for a Golden Canopy Bed. I longed to be a Fairy Princess with a beautiful white horse and hair long flowing hair like Rapunzel. I was convinced that such a �Princess� would sleep in a Golden Canopy Bed. Apparently I had finally asked Mom just one time too many. She went to the trashcan, handed me an empty tin can and said, �Here�s the can, you�ll have to do the rest yourself!� (Can-a-pee) My heart was broken, but I never again asked for the bed.

Looking back I realize that it was just something that they couldn�t afford to buy for me at the time. That amount of money could buy both my Brother and I a new pair of school shoes, new work boots for Dad, and put quite a few meals on the table. Mom always claimed she was most comfortable wearing rubber thongs so this is what she wore most of the time. And until I was old enough to realize her sacrifices and make her some dresses, she had only 3 dresses to her name. One for housework, one for getting groceries, and one for church. All the while, I had a closet full of beautiful handmade dresses (made by her) and my Brothers a closet was full of shirts she made him, as was Dad�s. Also, I took dancing and my Brother Karate and later guitar. She always put herself last.

The other day, while looking at one of my favorite on-line bargain sites, I saw a beautiful scroll work Canopy Bed normally $350, on sale for $110 with free shipping included. Of course I had to have it even though I knew it would mean giving up a few things, or at least waiting a little while longer to get them. The only down side to it was that it was black, but I was determined I wouldn�t let that stop me. So when it arrived, I purchased 3 cans of gold spray paint and had a blast painting it yesterday. I assembled it all tonight (which was a HECK of a lot more work than I anticipated and a lot heavier too!) It�s GORGEOUS! Even if I do say so myself.

I bet you�re thinking the first thing I did was lay down across it and pretend to be a Princess. Wronggggg! I��..jumped up and down on it! Yes I did! Something I was never aloud to do, and I enjoyed every second of it. I heard myself say out loud, �Ha, ha, ha, ha, ha�Go ahead Mom, try and stop me.� I wish she could have. But even though she can�t I think she must be smiling knowing that I finally got my �Golden Fairy Princess Bed�. Now if I can just find a �Prince� who likes short, pudgy, bubble-butted blondes! Haaa�

0 GAVE ME A LITTLE RINGY DINGY

Old Gossip - Latest News

SITE METER Site Meter HIT COUNTER
account login
Provided by the online mba programs directory.
web tracker