Latest Gossip
Yesterday's News
Queen of Chat
Ringy Dingy Me a Little E-Mail
Ringy-Dingy Me a Little Note
dland

Antiques and Snippets
2004-05-16 - 9:21 p.m.

Okay�..Just a few thoughts and snippets.

On the subject of refinishing furniture. There is a lot of antique furniture in my house. This is my taste and preference. But at the time it was bought, it was just considered old and what Mom and Dad could afford. Mom and I picked most of it out together when I was just little. When it comes to antiques, or any furniture actually, I don�t choose something for it�s value�.mainly because nock-offs are so prevalent and sometimes hard to detect, that there are no guarantees you are getting the �real Mc Coy�. So I�d never pay more for a so-called antique, than I would for a known knock off piece.

Also�if it ain�t functional, or doesn�t fit in with my taste, I have no interest in it. All this being said�.a friend stopped by while I was in the middle of stripping an old dresser and preparing to paint it a different color. He gasped at what I was doing and stated, �Don�t you know that by doing that you are lowering it�s value?� My reply, �Well dahhhh, yeah I know that. But I only paid $2 for it at a garage sale, it was falling apart, and I can�t use a yellow dresser in my house.� He shook his head in amazement. So now I ask you this, for those of you who know anything about antiques. You buy a piece of furniture�.it�s chipped and you can see several layers of paint under the top color. Now how do you truly know at what point, by adding another layer of paint on top, are you now adding to it�s value, or detracting from it? Is the 8th coat that adds, but the 9th coat that makes it garbage??? Really, how do you know? So to me, since I have no plans to sell any of my pieces, if I choose to repaint them it�s no big deal. Of course, I�m not stupid enough to say slap a coat of paint on this piece. I�m no fool! I love this china hutch just the way it is.

I shared my idea of wanting to put a heart shaped planter box in the middle of my lawn. I love hearts and have them all over the house. And, for those who don�t know or remember, my middle name is Love which was Mom�s maiden name. So to me, it seemed a natural. My friend, whom I shared this idea with thought it was �Stupid� and �Tacky� and that I�d be an �Idiot� to do this. Welllllll�..you know me, Dahhhhh�I�m an idiot! An idiot who took that as a challenge. And when someone challenges me�..So yes, after two days of pulling out grass by hand, placing brick around the edge, and laying in barrier cloth, I now have a BIG heart smack dab in the middle of my front lawn. Nah, nah, nah, nah, pooh-pooh!!!!

Well, that�s it for now. Hasta La Wee-Wee!

0 GAVE ME A LITTLE RINGY DINGY

Old Gossip - Latest News

SITE METER Site Meter HIT COUNTER
account login
Provided by the online mba programs directory.
web tracker