Latest Gossip
Yesterday's News
Queen of Chat
Ringy Dingy Me a Little E-Mail
Ringy-Dingy Me a Little Note
dland

Again, everything happens for a reason.
2005-03-13 - 12:04 a.m.

As some of you know from having read my ramblings in the past, I am a big believer in the fact that things happen for a reason. The last few days have continued to convince me of this theory.

Thursday I found a note on my front door from girls who use to live across the street. We grew up together, but I hadn�t seen or heard from her in 20 years. For some reason, when I saw the note, dread crossed my mind. It wasn�t so much that I didn�t want to see her, as it was that I didn�t want her to see me. I didn�t want her to see the pain in my eyes, nor the dark circles and weight gain that have come on with the stress of losing Mom. Yes, although it has now been 2 years this month, it still seems like yesterday, it still hurts, tears still form in my eyes at the though of her just as they are doing now.

In the note she said that she�d be around again tomorrow afternoon and that she wanted to see me and �catch up�. I racked my brain, trying to decide how best to handle it. I decided�..When faced with defeat�.it is best to retreat. So dropped the note in the planter box next to my door in an attempt to have it look it must have blown off and I never saw it. I also decided to get up extra early, take care of all I needed to around the house, and head out and stay out for the day.

My day was a strange one. After I left Wally World, I needed to kill more time. So, I stopped by the neighborhood drug store, picked up a couple things, and chatted for about an hour with one of the clerks that I�ve made friends with over the past few years. Lucky break #1 for me, I went out the door opposite of where I had parked the truck for some reason. But it put me at just the right angle to notice a very small puddle (I usually don't pay any attention to such things) of fluid that resembled "Mountain Dew" in color under my truck. I realized it was radiator fluid....I looked under the truck and saw that it was coming from my truck and not a vehicle that had the spot before me.

Fortunately, lucky break #2, I was right across the street from a garage, so I had them check it out (they've done good work for me before and seem to be honest.) Of course, my suspicions were correct, my Radiator had a leak. I was glad that if it had to happen, it did when it did as I could have been out on the freeway at night and nowhere near a garage. I was told that the total would be $325 total. I told the guy go ahead with it as I had no choice. He called the parts place up, came back out to where I was and said, "Man Missy...you really lucked out ....It's 2:25 now and they were going to knock off early and stop taking any orders at 2:30...you just made it under the wire getting your parts here today" Yes, again...another lucky break. This would be #3.

While I was sitting there, a man sat next to me and started chatting about cars. You know me....I'll talk to just about anyone. We got on the subject of antique cars so I mentioned my '39 Ford. He commented he'd like to check it out when I'm ready to sell it and asked for my #. We chatted some more and he worked it into the conversation that he was single.....told me a couple times he thought I was pretty....etc..... His car was done before mine. He said how much he enjoyed talking and asked if we could have coffee sometime. He seemed "safe"....not really my type physically (reddish hair...fair skinned...no facial hair.....I lean toward dark hair and olive complexions�. mustache or beard and mustache neatly trimmed.) but I said sure. He commented that he hadn't even told me his name and offered me his card and walked over and got into a brand new Cadillac. I looked down at the card and it read��Sam ****� Attorney at Law. I know these two combined would send some girls hearts racing....but it just didn't do it for me. So what�s wrong with me that it didn�t? Still, I it was nice to be asked out for the first time in 12 years by a man who was actually single and successful. Not a young married guy wanting to have a fling on the side. He seemed very down to earth and never once mentioned in our conversation what he did for a living. Most men of his means would try and mention it within the first few sentences. So�maybe I�ll go for coffee and see what happens. Couldn�t hurt.

Anyways....the truck finally gets done....and the guy tells me that the truck didn't need the new thermostat in it so he decided to save me some money and leave it off. He also said that he decided to give me a little discount...So the original $325 was now just $250. That was a $75 savings and lucky break #4 (or #5 if you count being asked out�.and yes, I do so we�ll call this #5). Of course, on the way home I started wondering if "someone" paid part of my bill, or if it really was just another lucky break.

My mind was too much on the fact that I was lucky enough to find out about the leak before the engine over heated on the freeway.....lucky enough to be right across the street from a reputable shop....and lucky enough to get a little break on the price. All in all.....I think maybe, just maybe, Mom was looking out for me today. But then I ask myself, �Why, when I go to my banking website, the charge for the truck was there yesterday, and now the charge has disappeared?��..Hmmmm��.

BTW�..My doorbell rang at 7:30 tonight�.on the other side of the door�..the friend I was avoiding��but I�ll save that for my next entry.

0 GAVE ME A LITTLE RINGY DINGY

Old Gossip - Latest News

SITE METER Site Meter HIT COUNTER
account login
Provided by the online mba programs directory.
web tracker