Latest Gossip
Yesterday's News
Queen of Chat
Ringy Dingy Me a Little E-Mail
Ringy-Dingy Me a Little Note
dland

Ostriches on Crack
2009-06-18 - 11:39 a.m.

I married into a family of Ostriches. No, really, it�s true! You see, the entire family refuses to confront anyone. Instead, they choose to think of everyone as their �friend�.

Here�s where the problem comes in. I was born a Confronter. If someone says or does something I don�t like, I confront them on it, plain and simple. How else do I know if they meant it the way I interpreted it or not?? This method has always worked for me. I have found that, sometimes things are not intended the way they sounded, or sometimes they were meant the way I interpreted it, but they didn�t think I�d find out about it, or they meant what they said, they don�t care if I know it, and I can simply cross them off my list of friends.

I�m discovering that Ostriches and Confronters don�t always mix well. Case in point: A long time member of one of our clubs is saying ugly things about hubby, and his ability as an attorney. Confronter that I am, I�m ready to go over and call them on it. Mommy-in-Law Ostrich tells me, � He�s always talking about people. We just ignore it Dear because we�ve known him and his wife so long.�

When I tell her that I�m not one to ignore such terrible things, that it not only hurts that someone would do that, but that his lies could cost us future business as he�s spreading these rumors to other club members, I�m met with, �No. You really shouldn�t say anything. It�s not your place. You don�t want to create waves.�

All 4 of her children, all over 50, still do what mommy says for the most part. For them, M-O-M stands for �Must-Obey-Mom�. For me, it�s more like �Move-Over-Madam�...�cause I�m gonna do what I gotta do, like it or not! So yes, I will be approaching this man without any warning to hubby or Mommy in Law.

Hubby and I are off (in more ways than one!) to a late breakfast at IHOP. I hope we don�t get the new waitress. Cheerful, happy, friendly....all fine, all good, but �super-perky�.........no, no, no. It�s like having your order taken by Glenda the Good Witch on crack! Give me the old cranky waitress any day. Haaaaaaa....

3 GAVE ME A LITTLE RINGY DINGY

Old Gossip - Latest News

SITE METER Site Meter HIT COUNTER
account login
Provided by the online mba programs directory.
web tracker