Latest Gossip
Yesterday's News
Queen of Chat
Ringy Dingy Me a Little E-Mail
Ringy-Dingy Me a Little Note
dland

Easy as BOYLING Water
2009-05-29 - 8:54 p.m.

From the age of 3, I have enjoyed cooking. Of course, wayyyyy back then reaching the stove top was quite a feat. My Momma would stack 2 phone books in the bottom of a chair and stand me up on them so I could reach it. I think it all started with the first time I saw Julia Child on TV. I don�t know what it was about this woman that drew me in. Perhaps a mixture of her unique voice, sweet disposition, a fearless �the show must go on� attitude even when making a mistake, or 6'2" larger than life presence. Come to think of it, I know what it was. It was the way she handled a whisk. When she�d whisk eggs or batter, I�d go into a trance. For some reason it just fascinated me. My family teased me for years when I was the only 4 year old they knew of that asked for a whisk for Christmas..... and yes, I got it, and still have it to this day! I own several kitchen gadgets (I love them), but my whisk is still my favorite. I have Julia Child to thank for that. Sadly, she passed away in 2004, at the age of 91. So much for rich french foods being unhealthy. You can imagine my surprise when I read that my cooking idol had once been....are you ready???....a SPY!!! She signed up for a secret organization under President Roosevelt during WWII and was called The Office of Strategic Services, later known as the CIA. Now, they say it was disbanded in 1945, but I wonderrrrrrrrrr...... Was my fascination with her whisk, in reality, her whisking out secret messages across the airwaves???? Was her over use of the words, �Bon Appetit!� code for something???? We may never know......... But, I leave you with this thought....... Am I the only one who see�s a resemblance between Julia and Susan Boyle? THINK ABOUT IT!

4 GAVE ME A LITTLE RINGY DINGY

Old Gossip - Latest News

SITE METER Site Meter HIT COUNTER
account login
Provided by the online mba programs directory.
web tracker