Latest Gossip
Yesterday's News
Queen of Chat
Ringy Dingy Me a Little E-Mail
Ringy-Dingy Me a Little Note
dland

Sweet Pea, the Survivor
2009-03-14 - 11:50 p.m.

We had a private hearing to do this week. This is the one we were getting ready for when Bubba started looking obviously worse. We had no choice. We had to leave poor little Sweet Pea alone... for 4 days, right after her brother Bubba passed away. Not only would we not be allowed to leave her in the hotel room when we went to do the hearing, but the prison was a 10 hour drive each way. I think it would have been very hard on her. Fortunately, I have a dear friend who came and checked on her each day.

She and her brother were use to being alone for a few days when hubby and I go out of town, as they had each other for company, and a big feeder and water container. This was the first time Sweet Pea had ever been alone. When we got back, she was still healthy, well fed, and cheerful. Still the same little �ham� she�s always been. But, by the evening, she was sitting on the back porch steps crying her little heart out.

I brought her in right away and she began to run around the entire house, looking, sniffing, and crying but tail wagging. She appeared to be saying, �OK Bubba, you can come out now, I know you�re in here somewhere!� After about 15 minutes...... she knew..... she stopped searching....... he was gone forever. She climbed up into my lap, cried a little more and fell asleep. That was the end of it. She seems to understand.

In case you are wondering why she�s not a house dog..... 3 very good reason. First, she and her brother were never house broken. I tried and tried, but they were already 2 � when I got them and Pugs are very, very stubborn. She does, however, have a little diaper she can wear that allows me to have her in for a couple hours a day.

Second, puggies get into EVERYTHING! At least both of mine always have. They are very, very, curious little buggers. When you have two, you double your trouble! I remember coming home the first time after leaving them in the house, and finding both of them in the middle of the kitchen table, looking at me as if to say, �What? You got a problem with this?� When I walked into the living room, I�m surprised there wasn�t a rainbow in there as Bubba had hiked his leg on everything.... Not to be out done, every place he peed, Sweet Pea (no, not sweet Pee) also peed.

And third, puggies shed, A LOT, all year round, all over the place. I have to vacuum every time they come in the house. It sticks to the furniture, carpet AND your clothes.

Hubby and I are talking about getting another dog to keep her company. The cat tolerates her when she comes in, but Coco is a very �anti-social� kitty. Sweet Pea is very social and needs a buddy. I know it won�t be another puggie..... I love Sweet Pea, but a think it�d be good to have a dog that�s a little calmer... maybe it will rub off on her a bit too.

In the past I�ve had a Snoodle (Schnauzer-Poodle Mix), a poodle, and shih-tzus, all very calm, very intelligent, very sweet dogs. I think any of these would be a great match for Miss Sweet Pea... Perhaps in a few days we�ll go to the pound and see what we see. All my pets, except an occasional hamster, have been rescue animals. Even the two chinchillas I had.

So that�s about it for now. Maybe I�ll tell you about our trip in the next entry.

1 GAVE ME A LITTLE RINGY DINGY

Old Gossip - Latest News

SITE METER Site Meter HIT COUNTER
account login
Provided by the online mba programs directory.
web tracker