Latest Gossip
Yesterday's News
Queen of Chat
Ringy Dingy Me a Little E-Mail
Ringy-Dingy Me a Little Note
dland

The Eyes Have It
2008-08-23 - 8:30 p.m.


Some days it�s harder than others to find the right thing to write about. Most people write about daily happenings/jobs, but I�m limited on what I can and can�t say about work because of the legalities and confidentiality of clients. I could tell you some great stories, but it�s not always easy to change the details enough that I am still not revealing too much about a particular case. But, what the heck, I�ll try and keep it vague and general and see what happens.

On the somewhat funny side, we had one client was a little �slow�. He was an adorable little round man, 5 ft. tall at the most, with a round little face and impish grin not unlike that of the man-on-the-moon when the moon is full. His file specified that he could understand simple English if you speak slowly. Although the CDCR (California Department of Corrections & Rehabilitation) does not require it with MDOs (Mentally Disordered Offenders), for my own peace of mind, I like to make sure our clients completely understand what they are signing, if possible.

So, I start out by asking, �I�m here to interview you for your hearing next month. Can I ask you a few questions?�
Response, �Si, Mesi-melik!�.

Now I read that this man grew up in Mexico until he was 8, but that he graduated from High School in the United States and was fluent in English. Although I know a little Spanish, I didn�t recognize anything he said as being either English or Spanish. I couldn�t make heads or tails of WHAT he was saying, yet he was nodding yes. I decided I should try again by rephrase it.

�Do you speak and understand English well enough to do your hearing?�
Nodding aggressively and grinning from ear to ear, his response, �Jes, Mesi-melik!�.

Anal-retentive that I am, I felt I had to try one more approach to be very sure it was getting in.

I ask, �What color is that you�re wearing today?�
�Orange.�

OK, I was finally satisfied he understood for the most part. I relax and give him my usual spiel, �I�m �im2qt2kr�, I work with your attorney and I�m here to help you get ready for your hearing next month. Do you have any questions?�
Again, grinning and nodding, �Jes, Mesi-melik!. You married?�

Just as he says this, I look up and finally realize what the heck he�s been saying. You know how they say the eyes say it all? Well, when I look up this time, I realize that he�s not staring down at the file in front of me, but instead, he�s looking at me chest, grinning and saying, �Me see, me like!� Boyyyyy, did I feel my blondeness at that moment!

That�s it for today boys and girls. Perhaps I�ll share another sometime. Have a great weekend!

0 GAVE ME A LITTLE RINGY DINGY

Old Gossip - Latest News

SITE METER Site Meter HIT COUNTER
account login
Provided by the online mba programs directory.
web tracker