Latest Gossip
Yesterday's News
Queen of Chat
Ringy Dingy Me a Little E-Mail
Ringy-Dingy Me a Little Note
dland

Luck and Prosperity
2005-01-01 - 8:48 p.m.

I think I may have figured out why 2004 was such a crappy year for me when it was suppose to be a little easier and a little better (for those who don�t know, I lost my Mom in 2003�she was my life). Anyways��There is a tradition in the South, or an �old wives tale� as some might call it, that on New Year�s Day you should always eat Black-eyed Peas for luck, and Green (collard, turnip, etc.) for prosperity. For the last two years, for the first time in my life, I went against tradition and didn�t have either one. Hmmmmmm�.Old Wives Tale??????

I went to see Dad today and my brother and his family were there too. I received my usual top-of-their-lungs �Aunt Lovie!!!!� greeting from my two Nephews�.followed by loads of Smooches, hugs and Squeegies. Squeegies is a term I made up just for them. It�s a BIG hug where I lift them both off the ground simultaneously, and follow that with lots of little �I Love You� squeezes thrown in I know it�s silly, but at 5 and 6 years old, to them it�s fun. Of course David, the littlest one, was sure to mention to me (casually and very subtlety of course) that his Birthday is next week. It went something like, �HEY! I�m not suppose to remind you that it�s my Birthday next week �cause Papa said that was rude, especially because you having some money problems right now�but you wouldn�t forget would you? I could loan you some money from my bank to buy me something if you pay me back!� Talk about the guilt.

I always get him something. The problem is that my Brother�s wife started something when then were just tiny that I wish she never had. Whenever it�s one child�s Birthday, the other always gets the same thing�.just a little different, or different color, etc� this because she was convinced the other child wouldn�t understand why he wasn�t getting something too. We were always expected to honor this wish of hers and do the same with the boys. Well, that can make for some expensive gift giving bills, not to mention that I then am forced to give the child, who�s Birthday it is, a lesser gift than I might have because I can�t always afford two nice things at once. Rebel that I am, I�ve decided enough is enough. Not to hurt either of my Nephews, but I will tell my Brother ahead of time what I am buying for the Son who�s Birthday it is, and that I won�t be doing the �two gift� thing anymore. If they want to buy a duplicate, they will have time to do so.

YES!!! I am woman�hear me ROARRRR!!!!! Ha�. Okay..enough of that. I�m off to cook up some black-eyed peas and greens (Why tempt fate?) for me and the pups (yes, Bubba and Sweet Pea like them too!) And of course, what self-respecting Southern girl could forget the pone of cornbread?

0 GAVE ME A LITTLE RINGY DINGY

Old Gossip - Latest News

SITE METER Site Meter HIT COUNTER
account login
Provided by the online mba programs directory.
web tracker