Latest Gossip
Yesterday's News
Queen of Chat
Ringy Dingy Me a Little E-Mail
Ringy-Dingy Me a Little Note
dland

The Alarms went off!!!
2004-03-18 - 9:06 p.m.

Jury Duty was���.Interesting? Maybe that�s not quite the word for it. It probably is best that I just get on with telling you the story and let you �judge� for yourselves. But�..As with really �fantastic� sex (If memory serves me right.) to be done properly, it must not be rushed. At least not from a woman�s perspective. So I shall first set the scene (i.e. foreplay).

Due to poor driving directions, heavy traffic, one way streets, virtually no parking, and the Court house having been moved to an entirely different building than the one I had gone to for Jury Duty the last time�.I was nearly one hour late. I had to walk around the perimeter of the building/buildings for 15 minutes just to find the proper entrance. Once inside the first set of doors, you and your belongs have to go through a scanner. My purse made it through without setting off any alarms, buttttt��.Alarms, flashing lights, everyone staring at me as if I were terrorist packing dynamite��. I was told to take off my shoes and remove all my jewelry. My jewelry yesterday (as with most days) consisted of 8 toe rings, 3 bracelets, 8 rings, 4 pairs of earrings, a necklace, a nose stud, a belly ring, and a tongue ring). Guess what?��Alarms, flashing lights, everyone staring, I was afraid the next words I would hear would be, �Step into this room miss for a strip and cavity search�. Which, if performed by the right officer, could have been��.but I digress. A female officer whispered something to her to male coworkers, and the all turned in unison to look at me. To speed this up a bit, tactful questioning lead to the culprit. Let�s just say, a bra in MY cup size, framed in industrial strength under wire�YEAH!!!!

I was assigned to go to Department 45 for possible Jury selection. The layout of this new building is a nightmare. We were all handed a sheet of directions just to find our way around. They read: Go to the 2nd set of elevators to the left, go up to the 3rd floor, turn right, cross the bridge to the second building, go past the escalator, use the first set of elevators to then go up to the 4th floor, turn right, go to the end of the hall, turn right again....... AND....I found out the hard way, when you come back through a different entrance after lunch......these directions don't work as you are now in the OTHER building.

Once in the courtroom, we were all seated and I began to visually scan the room. The Judge briefed us on a few rules of his courtroom, told us that the Defendant in this case was accused of check forgery, but was innocent until proven guilty, and then read off the first 24 names of potential jurors. I was to be potential Juror #18. He then announced that, due to the time, we would recess for a 1 � hour lunch, to be followed by the �screening process� of jurors. Everyone rose to their feet, the lawyers turned to face the potential jurors, as did the defendant��..The sight of the defendant as we locked eyes sent a cold chill up my entire body. We were told to file out for lunch. I walked around downtown nearly the entire 1 � hours, numb. I couldn�t eat anything for lunch, as I knew I wouldn�t be able to keep it down.

After lunch, I and 3 other jurors discovered that, the directions given us to find Department #45 were of no use when you had to enter through a difference to the building. We walked in 5 minutes late, and all eyes were on us. I sat frozen as the lawyers went through the usual screening process of jurors. I prayed that they would find their 12 jurors, and 2 substitute jurors amongst the first 18 potentials. Over and over I kept hearing, �The people would like to thank and excuse Juror # 3�.#5�..#8�� No luck. It was my turn to be questioned.

Their line of questioning made me feel as though I were the one on trial. Once I was asked what I do for a living and answered, they laid into me like a moth on a cheap suit.

Lawyer: �Miss im2qt2kr, what is it you do for a living?�

Lawyer: "Unemployed? What did you USE to do?"

Me: "I was my Mother's caregiver the last 8 years?"

Lawyer: "And you're not doing that anymore?"

Me: "No Sir."

Lawyer: "Why not?"

Me: "She died."

Lawyer: "When was this?"

Me: "March 3rd" (I purposely didn�t say �which� March 3rd as I was hoping this would be enough to get me eliminated as I didn�t want to be a juror on THIS case)

Lawyer: "Are you looking for work presently?"

Me: "I'm getting ready to."

Lawyer: "And what line of work will you be going into."

Me: "Not sure what I'll do."

Lawyer: "Are you trained in anything?"

Me: "Yes, I have degrees in both CIS and Business."

Lawyer: "Why won't you be going into computers?"

Me now addressing the Judge: "My degrees are obsolete. Actually sir, if you don't mind me saying one thing. I believe we could shorten this if you will allow me to approach the bench and state why I know I would not be a good Juror for this case."

Judge: "Can't you state your reason from there?"

Me: "I could, but I believe when you hear why, you will agree that it is best that I approached the bench."

Judge: "I'd prefer Ms. im2qt2kr, that you just tell us from where you are seated. Please state why you feel you would not make a good Juror on this case.�

Me: �Because your Honor, I know the Defendant.�

Judge: �In what capacity Ms. im2qt2kr.�

Me: �The Defendant has been stalking me for almost a year, and I have a Restraining Order issued against him.�

Judge: The Court would like to thank and dismiss Juror #18, along with all potential Jurors in this case due to the recently acquired knowledge given by Ms. im2qt2kr. I ask you all to not discuss this case upon leaving as we will be calling another group of potential jurors and would not want them to be influenced in anyway by this knowledge.�

0 GAVE ME A LITTLE RINGY DINGY

Old Gossip - Latest News

SITE METER Site Meter HIT COUNTER
account login
Provided by the online mba programs directory.
web tracker