Latest Gossip
Yesterday's News
Queen of Chat
Ringy Dingy Me a Little E-Mail
Ringy-Dingy Me a Little Note
dland

Another Day at The Mall
2004-01-25 - 6:42 p.m.

Yesterday, my friend gave me $25 in my card, with the stipulation that it must be spent on something fun or silly, (Nothing for the house!) and that it must all be spent on my Birthday, or else I�d have to give her back double the amount. I love her for that, as she knew it would force me to get out of the house, instead of sitting home, feeling sorry for myself. So, I went back to �The Mall�. The same mall where I met my sweet little �ice cream cone lady.� (From the previous entry entitled �The Mall�) This mall had been good to me in the past; it�s close to my house, so I decided, �What the heck!� I walked through Mervyn�s looking for just that right something. I saw a very cute big red purse with Mickey Mouse�s face emblazed on the side in black. Red and Black being my favorite colors, I couldn�t resist. I looked at the price tag and saw that it was $20, and decided that was too much for a cloth purse. I looked in the change purses, as mine was on its last leg. I found a cute red one in the shape of a heart. Anything heart shaped is also a weakness of mine as my middle name is Love (Mom�s Maiden name.) But, quickly put it down with its $10 price tag. As I was walking away from both, something said, �Turn back around. You need to look again.� As I turned around, I noticed a sign above these two items marked 25% OFF. I quickly did the math in my head, and discovered that, indeed, the $25 would more than cover these two items.

I made my way to the check out counter in the Jewelry Dept. As I waited, I looked at the many rings and bracelets they had to offer. My eyes were drawn to a gold ring with a red heart stone, and a gold bracelet with 6 small red heart stones. I remembered how Mom always bought me a special piece of jewelry on my Birthday each year, and that it always had a heart on it. These were twice as grand, as they were also my Birthstone. The thought made me both teary eyed, and smile. Then, I actually heard a small voice say, �Buy them!� I looked around, but I was the only one standing there. I looked around again, making sure no one was in ear shot and would think I was off my rocker, and said in a soft low voice, �Momma, are you the one telling me to get these? If you are, you need to give me a sign. I tell you what. If either one fits properly, AND is under $100, I will know that that�s the one you want me to buy.�

Just then, the Sales girl approached and offered assistance. I asked to see both. Without looking at the price tags, I tried on first, the bracelet, and it was a perfect fit (no help there). Followed by the ring, also a perfect fit. I then asked the girl the price of each. She looked at the tags and said, "Their both the same price, $225 each." I thought to myself, �See, you were only hearing what you wanted to hear.� She then said, �So, with the 60% off today, they are $90. each. Which one would you like?� I asked if I could think about it a moment. She smiled at me and said, �At this price, why not get both?� I stood at the counter with both in my hand, trying to decide what to do, and knowing I could barely afford one. Just then, my cell phone rang. I answered and it was my Aunt, my Mother�s Sister. She called to wish me a Happy Birthday and told me that before my Grandmother passed, just months before my Mom, that she had given my Aunt $500 and instructed her to give each of her 3 Grandchildren $50 on there next 3 Birthdays with love from her. My Aunt said that she was thinking about it, and realized that there would be an extra $50 left over after the 3 years. She wanted me to know that, although it would be arriving late, she had decided to send, not just the $50 Grandma had instructed her to send, but also the extra $50. As she knew that�s what both my Grandma, and my Mother would have wanted.

There it was, the extra $100 I needed to buy both. After paying for my purchases, I realized that there was a small amount of change left over from the $25 my friend had given me. She insisted that the rule was that I must spend every penny. I walked around, hoping to find something small to spend the remainder on. While thinking, I stopped to buy my usual soda. As I looked up on the menu, it hit me. �I�m at DAIRY QUEEN!� Yes, I had just enough change left to buy�..A triple scoop ice cream cone (see yesterday�s entry.) Thank you Momma for sharing my Birthday with me.

0 GAVE ME A LITTLE RINGY DINGY

Old Gossip - Latest News

SITE METER Site Meter HIT COUNTER
account login
Provided by the online mba programs directory.
web tracker