Latest Gossip
Yesterday's News
Queen of Chat
Ringy Dingy Me a Little E-Mail
Ringy-Dingy Me a Little Note
dland

Them There Eyes
2003-12-14 - 7:11 p.m.

After reading Mom-of-roof�s entry, I was reminded of the first time I had ever visited a Convalescent Home. I was 5 years old, and a dancin� fool! I should add here that I have danced the majority of my life. As a child, I took tap, ballet, and acrobatics. In adult life, Hula, Tahitian and Belly Dancing (Use to dance professionally on occasions under the names of Delilah for Belly Dancing, and Kaliki for Hula and Tahitian). Mom thought it would be a good idea to aid me with my shyness, and she was right. Anyways�..

I was to dance, my big debut at the Sunshine Home Convalescent Center. My big number? Billy Holiday�s �Them There Eyes.� (You gotta certain lil� cute way of flirtin� with them there eyes!�..) I was so very proud of the beautiful costume Mom had made me. She let me help add the sequins. I was so excited that I couldn�t sleep. Not only would I get to wear a costume, but MAKEUP too! Eileen (my dance partner) and I stood behind the make shift curtain (several white sheets, tied together and thumb tacked to the wall), nervously anticipating the start of the music. We decided to peek-out and survey the audience. It consisted of approx. 12 residents of the home (the ones that could make it into the cafeteria). To us, this was a HUGE crowd. I soon realized that peeking out was a big mistake. Having never really been exposed to people of this age, I found them scary. I decided that I was NOT, I repeat, NOT going to go out on that floor!

The music started, and I didn�t budge. Eileen was now motioning me to join her on stage, yet this did not persuade me. My dance teacher shot me a glare (I could swear I saw flames shoot out of her eyes!), and started the music again. Still, I remained glued in place, shaking my little sequins for all they were worth. Mom gently took my hand and told me how these �Sweet Old People� were counting on me to entertain them. I remained unmoved, but started to cry. As a last resort, Mom, in her infinite wisdom, SHOVED me out onto the stage. I stood in place, tears rolling down my face (big black, mascara tears as they didn�t make cry proof makeup back then.), and began to quietly sing �Them There Eyes.� A fitting song for a little girl crying here heart out. After the first verse, we began to tap to the music. Finally it was over, I took my big bow and left the stage, leaving a puddle behind me. I wish I could say here that it was a puddle of tears, but alas, I would be lying. I had gotten so scared when they started applauding, that I peed all over myself. I guess you could say I was �relieved� to get off that stage in more ways than one.

So, now it's back to the kitchen to make some Gingerbread "Woman" Cookies. These will not be the typical Gingerbread Women. I am making them for my friend, who is also my Beautician. She wants them to give out to clients this week. They will all have little hairdos, and be holding their own little chocolate blowdryer. I can't believe I suggested this creative little idea to her. 5 doz. freakin' little chocolate blowdryers, to go it the 5 doz. freakin' little Gingerbread Women's hands! I really need to learn to say no....but at least the house will smell wonderful. There! I found something positive to say about it. ha!

0 GAVE ME A LITTLE RINGY DINGY

Old Gossip - Latest News

SITE METER Site Meter HIT COUNTER
account login
Provided by the online mba programs directory.
web tracker