Latest Gossip
Yesterday's News
Queen of Chat
Ringy Dingy Me a Little E-Mail
Ringy-Dingy Me a Little Note
dland

Sitcom
2003-10-18 - 2:50 a.m.

Ever feel like your life is one big sitcom? Seinfeld has nothing on me.

Well, I took Dad's latest perscription over to the Convalescent Center yesterday (They FORGOT this one with the ones they ordered the day before.) This time, Dad wasn't wearing the eye glasses he had on before. The Nurse yelled out, "Hi! Someone said you were wondering about your Dad wearing glasses." I told her, "Yeah. He never had them before and I never asked for the eye doctor to see him." "Oh. (giggles) I asked for the Doctor to look at him because it's covered by his Medical, so thought it would be good for him to have them checked." "Well, why didn't you ask me about it first?" "Oh. (giggle) I didn't know I needed to. Nobody else's family request that I call them first." "Well.... that's everybody elses family. I like to be told what's going on with my Father." "Oh well. (giggle) It's already done now. But, I'll be sure and call you next time. By the way. His hearing is fine too. He just had a lot of wax in his ears." "So I guess you're telling me he saw an ear Doctor." "Yeah. (giggle) Didn't anyone tell you?" Through clenched teeth, "No, otherwise I wouldn't be asking the question." It's hard to believe I'm the one who's blonde, not the Nurse.

To make a long story shorter, the glasses Dad was wearing, the ones I had them take away from him, ARE his. I still can't understand why they would give bifocals to a man who, on a good day, now looks at a newspaper upside down, or even sideways. With his Alzheimer's he doesn't even know how to read anymore. It's all about getting the money from the state. If there's some way they can make money off someone, they'll do it.

The irony of it all. Now Dad won't wear the glasses. He's now convinced he doesn't need them anymore.

Spoke to the bookkeeper while I was there. She asked the details about the car accident, as someone had told her. I mentioned that the insurance gave me just under $3,000 for it, but that I was trying to be positive about it and console myself with the thought that at least it paid for most of the paint job on the outside of the house. I talked to her about Dad's bill and told her I had the check made out for $14,000 (It was even harder to write it on the check), and was glad that I had managed to gather enough to finally pay it off. She then said, "Oh. (giggle), we made a mistake. You actually owe $17,000.) So much for the insurance money! (Insert laugh track here!)

0 GAVE ME A LITTLE RINGY DINGY

Old Gossip - Latest News

SITE METER Site Meter HIT COUNTER
account login
Provided by the online mba programs directory.
web tracker